We are all human after all 

I am independent, courageous and strong and value the solo part of me but no man (or woman) is an island and at times we need physical contact with another human. Loneliness or aloneness? 

I recently led a reiki session and experienced the loneliness they were feeling in their life and, just for a split second, it remained with me; I guess to remind me what it feels like. 

This is how it felt and what I wrote immediately afterwards….. ‘There are times in my day and in my life where I have an overwhelming need to be held. Not sex. Not caressing. Not cuddled. Held. Held so tight I can barely breathe and yet it gives me life. 

There are times in my day and in my life where I need a strong loving man to wrap me in his arms and hold me all night. Not because he loves me but because he cares and is strong enough to carry me through the night with the strength in his arms and his heart. 

There are times in my day and in my life where I just need to be vulnerable. I need to know fear. I need to feel lost. With these come courage, strength and purpose. With these come security in the knowledge that I can take another step, walk forward into the future and be happy in my own aloneness. 

There are times in my day and in my life where I need to be held. Hold me.’

I guess this is to say that every one of us is human, vulnerable and alone and it’s perfectly okay to need others support, love and protection sometimes. You aren’t a lesser person. You aren’t weak. You aren’t losing it. You aren’t desperate. You are human and needing another human to acknowledge you and comfort you is normal. You are okay.  Never forget your humanness. 

Leave a Reply

