A love letter to my ego?

My dearest Ego

When you pay me attention my heart skips a beat. When you whisper sweet nothings in my ear it makes me melt. When you call my name I sometimes stumble. I love you. 

Why you ask? That’s simple. You remind me why I’m strong. You remind me why I fight for all I have and all I am. You remind me why every time I fall that I am able to stand back up again. 

For all those times you’ve made me anxious. For all those times you’ve made me needy. For all those times you made me irritate others because of my lack of self esteem and confidence. For all those times you made me defensive. For all those times you made me doubt myself and my words. For all this I love you. 

My darling Ego you give me strength, strength to say no to you and follow what is right for me. You empower me to be a better person when you continually tell me I am not worthy. You make me smile when you say I can’t and I know deep down I can. You make me listen carefully and act on what I hear. You make me strong as you hold me down and I push past your power. You make me laugh when you say the same thing time and time again and expect me to listen.

My darling Ego, thank you for all you have taught me, for being there and helping me create me in my darkest days, for if you had not I wouldn’t be the strong, independent, beautiful, loving and extremely happy and grateful woman I am today. Thank you. 

Love, me x

Leave a Reply

