Through the eyes of a child

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” This quote has rattled around my thoughts recently and I realise how much we lose becoming “man”. How we lose our sense of wonder. How we miss seeing the small things that create our happiness. What we fear. How we question. When did we become “man” and how sad is it that we seem unable to keep a thread of “child” in us as time passes by.

“When I was a child I spoke as a child”. I think we use the expression “out of the mouths of babes” and I really wish that more people had the courage to speak like a child. With honesty. With no filter. With heart. Without fear of judgement. With innocence and wonder at the words they are able to create and with joy.

“I understood as a child”. I would love to be able to recreate understanding as a child sometimes. Without complication. With questions. Without doubt that what I heard was the truth. With knowledge that I am growing and learning every time I find something new and it expands my world just a little bit more.

“I thought as a child”. As a child I never questioned what I was told by someone. As a child I lived sometimes in a world in my head. I was creative in what I did and how I approached things. I would capture all I saw, all I heard, all I felt and take those, not stress and worry, into my dreams. I thought the world was beautiful, I thought people good and had my best interests at heart and I thought everything lived for ever.

As I grew up and grew older I lost all this. I don’t know where. I don’t know when. I just know that when I looked recently it wasn’t there. Oh my god when did that happen? When did adulthood steal my childlike qualities. How did I allow this to happen? Why did I let it all slip out of my fingers and disappear into the ether? What happened that made me forget the innocent view of my surroundings, my peers, my adult relationships?  When did I begin to doubt someone’s words before I believed their truth? At what point did I put away childish things and destroy a part of me that was so very, very important to my adultness?

Now I’ve recognised that I need to see through my “child” eyes, or use my child’s eyes to remind myself of what I used to see. I can consciously remind myself to look at the world around me with wonder; allow it to surprise me; create with my “child” imagination a better world and then recreate it and live in it with the adult part of me. I can take people I see at face value first, trust, believe, love them for who they are not who society tells me they are because of their lifestyle, their religion, their colour or language. And I can love unconditionally, others and myself.

I can and will see as a child, hear as a child, speak as a child, think as a child, behave as a child. I can and will play, create, imagine, trust, believe and laugh as I did as a child and I will never again lose this part of me. Why? Because I am simply a better person to and for myself, my friends, my family, my community, my country, my universe since I found the child inside.

Want to come and play?

 

Leave a Reply

