The metaphorical suitcase

I thought after going through all that I have over the last five years that I was in a good place and comfortable with who I am and what I have. I have discovered I have itchy feet, thoughts of change, new choices and a desire to live. I have to stop convincing myself this place I sit is good because of how far I’ve come. It’s time to leave that all behind and begin again from where I am now and let her go. I’ve lived long enough in the shadow of who I was and need to be who I am.

I wasn’t on my death bed this last week but it has scared me, made me realise just how short life is and made me take stock of who I am and what I want from what I have left. It’s also made me question what I am prepared to do to achieve change. 

I once packed a suitcase and walked into a new life; different circumstances this time as I have choice and happiness with me but I am at a point where I think its time to do it all again. I’m not certain if that’s a real bag or a metaphorical one but I guess if I listen to the inner me I actually do know, it’s just scarey to admit it and change is scarey isn’t it?

No more over thinking. No more fretting. No more planning. Time for living.
So, as I always do, I ask you if it’s time in your life to gather what you need (not necessarily what you want) and put it in your suitcase ready to step into your next place? Are you at a point where the procrastination must stop and the doing start? Yes put plans in place but at some point you have to just do and see what happens or you may find yourself in ‘this life’s going okay’ place and never realise you haven’t moved and time is gone.  

The metaphorical suitcase is a happy case, filled with joy, opportunity, knowledge, love, life, laughter and a large smattering of that magic of self belief. I’m ready to pick it up. Are you packed and ready for when your time comes?

Leave a Reply

