Make me a channel of your peace

I’ve been reading a new book this week and it begins early on talking about the prayer of St Francis of Assisi  and it flew me back to my childhood, singing with my mum in church. I loved the hymn based on this prayer….. 

🎶Make me a channel of your peace. Where there is hatred let me bring your love. Where there is injury, your pardon Lord. And where there’s doubt, true faith in you. Make me a channel of your peace. Where there’s despair in life let me bring hope. Where there is darkness, only light. And where there’s sadness ever joy

Oh, master grant that I may never seek. So much to be consoled as to console. To be understood as to understand. To be loved as to love with all my soul. 

Make me a channel of your peace. It is in pardoning that we are pardoned. In giving to all men let we receive. And in dying that we’re born into eternal life. Make me a channel of your peace. Where there’s despair in life let me bring hope. Where there is darkness, only light. And where there’s sadness ever joy. 🎶

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to wake every day with a peace inside that fills you up for the day? So confident in your beliefs, in who you are and what you do and say that there is no need to worry incessantly about what is to come. To wake believing that the day is yours and will be all you want it to be. That is not to say you live in a bubble and there aren’t struggles, I don’t think that is possible as you are a human being, but to not stress about the unnecessary and just have the confidence that everything will work out how you need it to, wow that would be amazing wouldn’t it?

It is possible! I speak to the universe quite a lot. In my car, when I wake and when I go to bed, as I go about my day, in moments of tiredness or over dinner. When I think about it the universe must wear ear plugs some days! I make my thoughts clear and ask that, if they are meant to be, the universe guide me, give me signs and help me deliver. 

Synchronicity springs to mind as I write that. You know those moments when you really need a friend and someone appears unexpectedly, when you need money for something and you suddenly get a refund on your tax or just moments when you find what you’ve been searching for just as you need them most. Some may call that luck, I call it the universe delivering.

To find that peace I find if I give myself without asking for gain. If I have doubt, I find my faith; if I see despair I give hope; if I see someone hurt I give love; if someone has hurt me I forgive their actions; when someone is in darkness I give them a light to help them see. From living that way I gain all I need, peace and comfort and the rest then follows. 

Magical.

Leave a Reply

