Something Inside So Strong

🎶The higher you build your barriers, the taller I become. The further you take my rights away, the faster I will run. You can deny me, you can decide to turn your face away. No matter ’cause there’s something inside so strong.  I know that I can make it. Though you’re doing me wrong, so wrong. You thought that my pride was gone, oh no. There’s something inside so strong.  The more you refuse to hear my voice the louder I will sing. You hide behind walls of Jericho. Your lies will come tumbling. Deny my place in time, you squander wealth that’s mine. My light will shine so brightly it will blind you.🎶

Why these words this morning? Who knows. Some of you may know them, some not. For me, it’s not what the words originally said but what they say today, to me. Words can stay the same but their meaning changes with person, with time and circumstance.

I work with people every day who are hurting, who are lost, who are trying to see through the fog around them. Sometimes I just need to whisper, sometimes I need to shout and wave my arms for them to realise I’m here to stand alongside them whilst they journey on. Some I know need me and yet will never ask for help and I believe I do become taller, faster, sing louder, shine brighter just for them. They make me grow. They make me a better person. They, by their denial of who I am and what I can do, what I do do, makes me a better version of me. 

I am Tauren, I am stubborn and put a barrier in front of me and if I can’t knock it down I will find a way over, under, or round it. You will never deny me my opportunity to shine.

I have something so strong inside that nothing and no one will ever stop me achieving my purpose in life….. to heal and to love. I have a belief in me, my character, my spirit, my gifts, my skill set, my ability to be the person I was born to be, that nothing or no one will deny me, no matter how many times they try and knock me down. This is a newly found power, strength, belief system and until I wrote these words I didn’t realise how strong they were. 

I love the brain. Where I thought this was going when I started to type is not at all in that direction. I thought I was heading away from the original theme of the words and in fact I am walking right along with it. 

Deny me and I will shine brighter. For all those who doubt the need for people in this world who quietly work in the background, never shouting loudly, never clamouring for attention, sit up and take note. These people are creating the foundation for your peace of mind. These people are your foundation so tread carefully. Foundations can shift, crack and you can fall through if they aren’t allowed to be strong, given careful consideration, time and allowed to serve their purpose. You may walk on them but without their strength beneath your feet you fall, you hurt yourself, you fail. Do not deny them.

We have so many people in this world today clamouring for their voice to be heard, to sell their wares, to be the best, to have more, that they forgot those around, they forget to build relationships, they forget to grow others and therefore be grown themselves. They stomp their feet but soon enough the foundations will crack…. Their lives will implode and they will need to find their inner peace. There I will be. I promise. I wait quietly but will always wait. 

Leave a Reply

