Leaping into the unknown

Change. I’m not sure anyone could honestly say they are totally comfortable with it. I’m not convinced that many people really like it at all and would consider it a friend. More of an acquaintance that you need in your life to grow, progress, challenge and lift you to another level.

A leap of faith I think I might like to call it because although change can be planned, thought through, considered, well executed, you never, ever know that it’s going to work as you originally expected. There’s others free will to come into consideration, there are obstacles you didn’t originally see and you may find as you begin the change process that you actually would like to take this in a different direction…..

What change your mind half way through? Is that allowed? Absolutely yes and why? Because this is all about your change, your choices, your need to succeed and it is all in your control. Amazing isn’t it!

I have stayed in relationships, in jobs, in situations well past their sell by date because of fear. Fear of what would happen if I just let go and made choices that I knew deep down I needed to make. Fear of not knowing if I was going into something better. Fear of what people would say, what they would think. Fear of the new and fear of losing the old. Fear of change itself.

When I stepped away from corporate into self employment my biggest fear was not earning enough money and failing. I soon realised that if I feared both of those they were going to control me and what I did and I would always have those expectations of myself. I had to change. Then it got strange because once I realised this new career was working I began to fear the success, a prosperous client base, new business and referrals. This is where the magic happened, where fear became belief. 

Belief in my abilities, belief in my drive, belief in myself, belief that I could achieve anything and everything I decided was needed. I believed in me for the first time in many years and I was making choices for my life. My leap into the unknown was paying off.

Therefore, as usual, I turn the tables and ask you to consider what your leap into the unknown would be if you made one today? What’s is burning into your brain and your heart to do? What gets you excited just thinking about it and how would it make you feel if you did it, had it, loved it, every single day? So what’s stopping you? I know you will come up with 1001 things like paying bills, the mortgage, the rent, people not approving or thinking you’re mad, it’s scarey, it’s new and I totally understand but sometimes the risk is outweighed by ‘what if….’

What if you succeed, what if you love it, what if it gives you more satisfaction, joy, prosperity. What if it’s the best move you ever made. What if it changes your life and those around you – for the better. And what if it doesn’t I hear you ask well you gave it a go, you lived the dream for a while and you stop, breathe and make another change don’t you!

Life is too damn short to be fearing living it.

Leave a Reply

