What’s that on your face?

🎶smile though your heart is aching, smile even though it’s breaking. When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by. If you smile through your fear and sorrow. Smile and maybe tomorrow, you’ll see the sun coming through, just for you…if you just smile.🎶

If you look around you as you go through your day today see just how many people are smiling versus how many either are frowning or have no expression at all. Sadly I fear the former will be lowest count.

I am one of those infuriating people that smiles at everyone, says hello, good morning or hi to everyone, whether I know them or not. When I’m out walking I will do that and some look at you as if you have three heads, put theirs down and continue; some smile back; some do a double take and then briefly nod and some will give the whole smile and gusty greeting back. 

I love getting people to respond as I genuinely think we as humans go through our days, some, our lives, not realising what our face says. I have one of those faces that if I’m not purposely smiling, people will ask if I am okay. I don’t know if I look sad or cross but I’ve not a naturally smiling face so I have to plant one one and that is some days easier than others, but in front of people it’s there. I may be feeling sad or cross but so may the person I meet and if my smile takes them away from their misery for a few minutes then it’s done its job. They may even have been infected enough to pass it to another. Did I tell you smiles are contagious?

You can tell a genuine smile from a painted on one. It’s in the eyes. Anyone can smile with their mouth but not everyone smiles from their eyes. So is a fake smile to cheer someone up as good as a genuine eye smile? To me yes it is and that’s because if you fake smile enough you may find that it cheers you up and the next one is real. Also most people, when you are just passing through their day for that split second, will see the smile not the eyes and for some that will be enough to distract them from their own head funk.

Today’s mission if you are willing to accept it, is to smile. Smile at yourself in the mirror. Smile when you are on your way to wherever you are going today. Smile at a perfect stranger. Smile at those you care for. Begin this morning and see how much better you feel by the end of the day. You may have a sore face but think of the exercise your cheeks have had! See which of those smiles comes from your eyes and even if you are feeling miserable, make someone else’s day. Please. 

Leave a Reply

