Knowing me, knowing you

I’m struggling with my blog this mornring as I appear to have offended a reader and it’s getting to me. I don’t know this person and they don’t know me and yet their words are cutting, offensive and bordering rude. Why do I find them this way? Because they are questioning my integrity. They are questioning who I am and what I do. They are questioning my ability to do my job.

Now, there are some things you can say to me but my highest values are honesty trust, integrity, authenticity and accountability and crossing these or accusing me of crossing them is a step too far. If I have crossed them I would most certainly know but for someone who doesn’t know me, hasn’t met me and has certainly never experienced any therapy sessions with me to accuse me, is really offensive.

So how do you know someone? How do you learn who someone is? Social media? Blogs? Facebook posts? Absolutely not. You get a feel, a taste, a hint at who they are but to really know someone you have to meet the person, get to know them, learn who they are and what makes them tick. Relationship building. It’s vital and yet to some it’s already extinct.

I see so many business people greeting a prospect and the first thing they want to do I make a sale. No! I see so many posts with no introduction as to the person behind the product or service. The sale is the icing on the cake, the bonus and never the first intent of meeting someone new. 

This technique of building relationships and putting the financial side second will probably never make me a millionaire but that is not why I do what I do. I do what I do to make sure that no one ever sits where I did, feels so lost and stuck like I did, never feels like the only option is stepping off this beautiful planet because they feel they have nothing left to give. 

To those out these who read my blogs and know me you will know why these words from a stranger have hurt. To the stranger…. Either get to know me and allow me to get to know you or get on with your life as you are not welcome in mine. 

Negativity, hurt, unkind thoughts and comments do not live in my world and nor should they in any of yours.

Leave a Reply

