As we say goodbye

As we say goodbye to 2016 I look back on it with pride, with a wistful ‘I did that’ glance and a peace in my heart I didn’t know could exist there. I have had 12 months of self employment and I wouldn’t say there is a one day that I have regretted the decision.

That is not to say it hasn’t been tough because in some areas it really has but oh my goodness I wouldn’t swap what I have had this year for anything. My learning has gone through the roof and I have achieved far more than I could have possibly imagined. I have come out of my shell, I have grown in confidence in what I do and who I am and I am happy with the now, for the first time in my life.

In a previous Christmas if someone asked what I would like for a gift I would say I didn’t need anything but always in the back of my head there was a wish list I never divulged. Perhaps because I didn’t think I deserved it or the expense or just because, I don’t know. This year when I was asked I said the same thing but I actually meant it. What I have right here, right now is all I need. I have no desire for things. I am totally satisfied with what I have. That comes with an amazing sense of peace.

I spend every week healing those who need me. I give them all I have. I am loved and I can love. I have a healthy, happy family and am blessed with two amazingly talented and kind children. I have a roof over my head and food in the cupboard. I have friendship, laughter and opportunity. What more is there?

There have been some tough moments in the year for us all but as I leave 2016 and step forward into 2017 I step with love in my heart, a spring in my step and the knowledge that I can achieve absolutely anything I decide to do. One day at a time, new ideas, an open mind and an open heart and I’m ready. I am thankful for all I have and to all the people who have crossed my path this year I send you blessings as without you I have nothing.

So, as you step forward what are you taking with you, what do you leave behind and what are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

