Unbecoming You

Many of us try to be the person we feel we need to be. You strive for many years, learning, growing, changing. The metamorphosis of the caterpillar to butterfly. You seek, you search, you look under, over, around for the real you. Perhaps what you should be doing is stripping back, unlearning behaviours, stop looking out and search within and spend time unbecoming you.

Over time, our lives, the environment we place ourselves in, the people we associate with, the love we think we have that hurts us, the love we did have that we lose, the sadness we carry in our hearts, the angst, the worry and life’s stresses all weave into our skin and create the person we see in the mirror each morning. To become the person you were meant to be, maybe it’s time to stop adding more and actually take away what we have layered on until we get back to the core you, the core me, the core us.

If you are at a place where you know you need to change, you have probably spent many years covering the person you are today. Whether you see it as putting on masks, cloaks, layers, putting things in emotional boxes or just plain acting out life as you think it should be performed, there’s a lot of work to be done. Let me share a secret with you though, it’s possible. It really is possible if you put your heart into what you want and need to achieve.

You can begin today. All you have to do is take a look at who you are and tell yourself “I’m sorry, I love you but you cannot stay. It’s time for me to step into the light, get back to being me, the person I once was. You have to go. Thank you for bringing me this far but I can find my own way from here.”

With that said your journey begins. How do I know this works? Who am I to say it’s possible? What do I know of this? Five years, five years of my life have been dedicated to this. I said goodbye, I stripped me back and I redressed me in all I truly was. Did I kick myself for allowing myself to become the person I didn’t like? Yes of course I did, but once I had forgiven myself for being human I began to see so much more and you will too. The secret is forgiveness and love. Forgiving yourself, loving yourself, warts and all. Forgiving yourself and loving yourself enough to know you deserve to be the person you were meant to be.

So let’s begin the journey together of unbecoming you.

Leave a Reply

