The butterfly inside

“When she transformed into a butterfly, the caterpillars spoke not of her beauty but of her weirdness. They wanted her to change back to what she always had been. But she had wings.”

This has been me all my life. The odd one out. The weird one. The one who stepped out and looked different without any hesitation or thought to be the same as anyone else. Because of this I attracted bullies. Because of this I  attracted comments that were hurtful. Because of this I worked hard on fitting in, even though it meant losing my identity. Until now!

Now I have beautiful wings of gold, purple, red, yellow, orange and every other colour you could possibly imagine. I stretch them out every morning and I say “look at these, aren’t they fabulous”.

When I look at the caterpillars, I could do one of two things. I could point the finger and tell them how dull they are and how they all look the same or I could encourage them to grow and learn and transform and stretch their wings. Obviously the latter! You simply can’t knock those who don’t like different, you cannot wish them ill and you cannot allow how they see the world to affect you. 

Everyone is different, some just more than others but being different is a beautiful thing. Being different is unique. Being different is seeing the world with a positive mindset. Being different is standing out. Being different is colourful, beautiful, glowing, strong, courageous, independent and authentic.

If you are the butterfly, stand proud and never fold your wings back in. Never crawl back into the crysalis and hide in the dark. Spread your wings and fly and if you can, encourage the others to join you as they also deserve to be the best and most beautiful version of themselves.

Leave a Reply

