Needing support

Can I help you? I used to see those words as failure. If someone asked me that I would think they saw me as weak, incapable of doing things and would always respond with “no thank you I can manage.”

What horrendous pride I had. 

Everyone needs support, help, assistance. It doesn’t matter how you phrase it, we all need it and only our ridiculous pride stops us from accepting it. It doesn’t mean weakness. It doesn’t mean someone thinks less of us. It doesn’t mean we can’t cope. It means someone cares enough, loves us enough to give their time to us.

I learnt the hard way that you have to swallow your pride and ask for help sometimes but if you do, I can guarantee the answer will always be “yes of course, I never thought you’d ask.”

I now stand in the shoes of the helper, the assister, the one who lends a hand and listens, who watches for the signs and who cares enough to wait until it’s time for you.  I know how hard it is so I can understand. I understand where someone is in themselves at this point but the best bit is, I know where they can move to and that is the best gift I can give them. My belief. My belief is theirs to borrow as often as they like until they see it themselves. My belief is their light to follow. My belief is infinite. 

Everyone can move from their darkness to their sunshine, but they have to want it. They have to want to step into the warmth, away from the cold. It’s not easy but it is simple. All it takes is either “yes please” when I ask if I can support them or “I need you, can you help me” when they reach the moment of enlightenment.

That moment when you are ready to invest in yourself is when you can step up and step into the new you, your new skin, your potential. It’s the moment of empowerment, the moment of change, the moment of new beginnings. Are you ready? I am.

Leave a Reply

