Knowing it all

“Sometimes if you stand on the bottom rail of a bridge and lean over to watch the river slipping slowly away beaneath you, you will suddenly know everything there is to be known”. Winnie the Pooh, such a wise old bear….  

We spend our adult lives rushing about, stressing over everything we do, frustrated at not achieving, not having a job we love, not having enough money, being overlooked, being taken for granted…..the list goes on and on and on. We never stop, simply stop. We can, we just don’t. There’s always a reason why we don’t just let the water slip away beneath us.

Tell me why we don’t appreciate all that we have. Why do we struggle to accept that, even though we can still strive for more, we already have so much and are blessed to be alive. Why do people not take time to enjoy grass beneath their feet, wind blowing through their hair, sunshine and rain. We may not have a big house, flash car, surplus cash at the end of the month or be in our ideal relationship but we have so much to be thankful for.

If you stood on that bridge, watched that water flowing beneath your feet and just breathed, I wonder what you would be grateful for or even how long you could manage to stand and let the world go by whilst you stood still.

I would be thankful for many, many things as I have so much, nothing exotic or spectacular or of value in monetary terms but I am loved and do you know that gives me everything I need. With love I can achieve, I can create, I can earn, I can give…..what more is there. 

I stand on my bridge and as the river flows beneath my feet I breathe, I give thanks and just am.

Leave a Reply

