A thousand years

I still do a ballet class once a week and love the fitness side but nothing else exists for that hour. I really feel every breath, every muscle movement and the music seems to run through me, in me, with me. The music is like the puppeteer and I its puppet.

Last night Christina Perry’s ‘a thousand years’ was one of the pieces and it totally transported me. I danced with those who made me who I am, those I have loved, those I grew with, those who I shared experiences with that we’re beyond description, time or words.

🎶Heart beats fast. Colours and promises. How to be brave? How can I love when I’m afraid to fall? But watching you stand alone, all of my doubt suddenly goes away somehow. Darling, don’t be afraid I have loved you for a thousand years. I’ll love you for a thousand more.🎶

I’m not sure I can describe how those words wrapped around me as a person would their arms and we danced together reliving times gone by. Celebrating tenderness, warmth, laughter and a bond so tight that it could never leave. Past joined with present just for that few minutes and in unison moved as one.

This all may sounds a bit odd and aired fairy if you haven’t experienced anything like it but I can honestly say it was magical, peaceful, exhilarating and reminded me just how much the people we interact with, befriend, care for, love, make us who we are and are never far away. Their words, their emotions, the memories created and shared all stick to you like a an extra layer of skin. They mould you and move with you in everything you do, even when they have been long gone from your life. Awesome.

So, if your mum, dad, sibling, friend or lover is in your heart today find a piece of music in your heart and dance with them, celebrate them, love them one more time. They will enjoy the dance as much as you.

Leave a Reply

