So you think you’re hard done by?

“So how can you tell me you’re lonely and say for you that the sun don’t shine. Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London. I’ll show you something that’ll make you change your mind.”

I used to love this song as a young girl growing up and oddly it reminds me of my teacher at primary school who used to sing to us with his guitar. It does serve us well to remind us though that other people are living hard lives just like we are and there are many, many more who are far worse off. We are very quick sometimes to go down the woe is me route when actually our lives are pretty damn good.

Gratitude. Do you show it, can you feel it and when you express it, is it real? It’s a popular way of being these days, being grateful, but said with insincerity it may as well not be said. Are you truly grateful for what you have right here, right now? 

I had a moment last night when I asked myself what I had to moan about or disappoint me in my life, here and now. I couldn’t find one thing. Yes there are all the usual niggles of being self employed but actually when I look at the big picture I have a fabulous family who are working hard at what they love and are happy, I have people who love me and I love back, I have a beautiful home and a car to get me around the gorgeous countryside I live in and my health is good. What is not to be grateful for? 

We are quick to moan, we are quick to judge others when we haven’t lived in their shoes and we are quick to believe the worst in people. Slow down. Look. See. Feel. Look again at the world around you and then bring it back to your own and see how very lucky you are. You may not have much money, you may not be in the perfect relationship or you may dislike your job but I bet you can find something in all of that you wouldn’t be without. Be grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

